Baby Boks at full strength for Samoa

 Jun 09,2014
Written by: Editor

Junior Springboks coach Dawie Theron has selected his strongest starting line-up for the final Pool C Junior World Championship match against Samoa on Tuesday in Pukekohe, New Zealand.

"Samoa showed against New Zealand and Scotland they can be dangerous and we have prepared very well for this match," Theron said on Monday.

"We want to make sure we qualify for the semi-finals and will play our best team because this is now out most important match."

Theron retained only six players who outplayed New Zealand 33-24 last Friday in Albany, Auckland.

Hooker Corniel Els, locks JD Schickerling and Nico Janse van Rensburg and number eight Aidon Davis would all start against Samoa.

Among the backs, no changes were made to the halfback pairing of JP Smith (scrumhalf) and Handre Pollard (flyhalf and captain) while Sergeal Petersen (rightwing) was the only other outside back who would start.

Pierre Schoeman and Wilco Louw returned as props, Thabo Mabuza was given a first start at number six flank while a fit again Jacques Vermeulen returned at number seven flank after missing the NZ match with an ankle injury.

Duhan van Merwe would play left wing. Andre Esterhuizen was fully fit again after his head knock against Scotland and would start in the number 12 jersey while Dan Kriel moved from inside centre to the number 13 jersey.

His twin brother, Jesse, moved from outside centre to fullback.

The Junior Boks currently sat on top of the Pool C standings with maximum points (10) after two convincing victories over Scotland and New Zealand.

A point from their final pool fixture against the powerful Samoan outfit would guarantee them qualification for the semi-finals on 15 June.

The match was scheduled to kick off at 7.35am, SA time, and would be televised live on SuperSport.

The Junior Springboks team: Jesse Kriel, Sergeal Petersen, Dan Kriel, Andre Esterhuizen, Duhan van der Merwe, Handre Pollard, JP Smith, Aidon Davis, Jacques Vermeulen, Thabo Mabuza, Nico Janse van Rensburg, JD Schickerling, Wilco Louw, Corniel Els, Pierre Schoeman.
Replacements: Joseph Dweba, Mox Mxoli, Dayan van der Westhuizen, Victor Sekekete, Cyle Brink, Zee Mkhabela, Jean-Luc du Plessis, Warrick Gelant.

Tags: Springboks |  South Africa | 

From The Sideline