Fourie ruled out of Kings Park clash

 May 30,2014
Written by: Editor

The Stormers have left for Durban without all-action forward Deon Fourie, after he failed a late concussion test.

Fourie will thus miss his team's Super Rugby game against the Sharks on Saturday.

Fourie took a blow to the head during last week's comprehensive 33-0 win over the Cheetahs and was initially passed fit to face up to the table-topping Sharks this weekend.

However, he began showing symptoms later in the week and failed a concussion test late on Thursday - thereby ruling him out of action.

Stephan Coetzee will start in Fourie's place at hooker, with the uncapped Michael Willemse coming on to the bench. Coetzee will be making his first Super Rugby start, after five appearances from the bench this season, whilst Willemse will be hoping for a first-ever taste of action at this level.

Both Coetzee and Willemse were members of the all-conquering Western Province team last season, along with locks Ruan Botha and Jean Kleyn and another debutant, loosehead prop Sti Sithole. All five of them now find themselves in a Stormers matchday squad at the same time.

The following Stormers players are not available for selection at present: Props Steven Kitshoff, Oli Kebble, Brok Harris and Frans Malherbe, hookers Deon Fourie, Scarra Ntubeni and Tiaan Liebenberg, locks Eben Etzebeth, Jurie van Vuuren, De Kock Steenkamp, Rynhardt Elstadt and Gerbrandt Grobler, flank Schalk Burger, scrumhalves Louis Schreuder and Godlen Masimla, centre Jean de Villiers, wing Kobus van Wyk and fullbacks Gio Aplon and Ryno Eksteen.

Stormers (revised): 15 Jaco Taute, 14 Cheslin Kolbe, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Damien de Allende, 11 Sailosi Tagicakibau, 10 Kurt Coleman, 9 Nic Groom, 8 Duane Vermeulen (c), 7 Siya Kolisi, 6 Nizaam Carr, 5 Ruan Botha, 4 Michael Rhodes, 3 Pat Cilliers, 2 Stephan Coetzee, 1 Alistair Vermaak
Replacements: 16 Michael Willemse, 17 Sti Sithole, 18 Martin Dreyer, 19 Jean Kleyn, 20 Manuel Carizza, 21 Dylon Frylinck, 22 Demetri Catrakilis, 23 Peter Grant

Date: Saturday, May 31
Venue: Kings Park, Durban
Kick-off: 19:10 (local, 17:10 GMT)
Referee: Jaco Peyper (South Africa)
Assistant Referees: Stuart Berry, Stefan Breytenbach
TMO: Johan Greeff


Tags: Super Rugby |  Stormers | 

From The Sideline