Folau to face Bulls

 Apr 16,2014
Written by: Editor

Wallaby full-back Israel Folau is set to return to the Waratahs starting line-up for Saturday's clash with the Bulls in Sydney.

The try-scoring ace has missed both games in South Africa with a throat injury, and was then controversially withdrawn by the Australian Rugby Union for last week's clash against the Force.  

But the Waratahs medical staff have given Michael Cheika the all clear to pick the full-back and the player has received a medical clearance from the ARU.

Folau last played against the Rebels in round six, four weeks ago. 

The backline remains otherwise unchanged, with Rob Horne and Cam Crawford holding their places on the wings, and Kurtley Beale and Adam Ashley-Cooper  continuing their partnership in the centres.  In the halves, Nick Phipps and Bernard Foley line up alongside each other for the eighth straight game in 2014.

A strong performance in the scrums in the last two games has seen Cheika stick with the starting front row of Benn Robinson, Tatafu Polota Nau and Sekope Kepu.

After a dynamic display last week, Will Skelton again partners Kane Douglas in the second row.

The backrow consists of blindside flanker Jacques Potgieter - who'll be up against his former Bulls teammates - Michael Hooper and skipper Dave Dennis.

With the Waratahs expecting a torrid forward battle, the coach has gone with five forwards and three backs on the bench. After missing last week's loss to the Force in Perth, a fit-again Wycliff Palu will look to make a return to action via the bench.

Waratahs: 15 Israel Folau, 14 Cam Crawford, 13 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12 Kurtley Beale, 11 Rob Horne, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Nick Phipps, 8 Dave Dennis (c), 7 Michael Hooper, 6 Jacques Potgeiter, 5 Kane Douglas, 4 Will Skelton, 3 Sepoke Kepu, 2 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1 Benn Robinson.
Replacements: 16 Silatolu Latu, 17 Jeremy Tilse, 18 Paddy Ryan, 19 Pat McCutcheon, 20 Wycliff Palu, 21 Brendan McKibbin, 22 Jono Lance, 23 Matt Carraro.

Date: Saturday April 19
Venue:  Allianz Stadium, Sydney
Kick-off: 19.40 local (09.40 GMT, 11.40 SAST)
Referee:   Rohan Hoffmann (Australia)

Make your predictions!


Tags: Super Rugby |  Waratahs | 

From The Sideline