Pumas to host Boks in Salta

 Mar 20,2014
Written by: Editor

SANZAR have confirmed Argentina's home venues for the Rugby Championship 2014 and kick-off times for all but one fixture.

The Pumas will open their home schedule against the Springboks on August 23 at Estadio Padre Ernesto Martearena in Salta at 4:10pm local time (9:10pm SAST, 5:10am* NZT, 7:10am* AEST).

Argentina has played three previous Tests at the venue, defeating Italy 35-21 in 2005 before splitting a pair of contests against England; winning 24-22 in 2009 but falling 3-32 last June.

After a trip to Napier and the Gold Coast, Los Pumas return home to host the All Blacks at Estadio Ciudad de La Plata on September 27.

It will be the third consecutive year that New Zealand visits the south Buenos Aires venue having prevailed 54-15 in 2012 and 33-15 in 2013. A kick-off time for this match will be confirmed in the coming weeks.

Argentina's final home match, which also concludes the Rugby Championship, takes place at Estadio Malvinas Argentinas in Mendoza where they will host Australia on October 4 at 7:40pm local time (12:40am SAST, 9:40am NZDT, 11:40am AEDT).

Mendoza was the first South American venue to host a match in The Rugby Championship as Los Pumas held the Springboks to a 16-16 draw in 2012. South Africa returned the following year to claim a hard-fought 22-17 victory.

The Rugby Championship 2014 Schedule:

Saturday 16 August:

Australia v New Zealand, ANZ Stadium, Sydney
South Africa v Argentina, Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria
Saturday 23 August:

New Zealand v Australia, Eden Park, Auckland
Argentina v South Africa, Salta, Argentina

Saturday 6 September:

Australia v South Africa, Patersons Stadium, Perth
New Zealand v Argentina, McLean Park, Napier

Saturday 13 September:

Australia v Argentina, Skilled Park, Gold Coast
New Zealand v South Africa, Westpac Stadium, Wellington
Saturday 27 September:

South Africa v Australia, DHL Newlands, Cape Town
Argentina v New Zealand, La Plata, Argentina

Saturday 4 October:

South Africa v New Zealand, Ellis Park, Johannesburg
Argentina v Australia, Mendoza, Argentina

Third Bledisloe Cup Test:

Saturday 18 October:

Australia v New Zealand, Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane





Tags: Springboks |  Australia |  New Zealand |  Argentina |  South Africa | 

From The Sideline