Boks return for Province

 Oct 09,2013
Written by: Editor

Four Springboks are named in Western Province's starting XV for their Currie Cup visit to Durban to take on the Sharks on Saturday.

Lock Eben Etzebeth, number eight Duane Vermeulen, flanker Siya Kolisi and centre Juan de Jongh take to the field, with South African skipper Jean de Villiers on the bench.

Schalk Burger, recently returned from injury, is also named among the replacements alongside de Villiers and Michael Rhodes, who drops out of the starting lineup in place of Etzebeth.

Openside flanker Deon Fourie captains the side, but Rynhardt Elstadt again misses out thanks to a shoulder injury in what is the final league round of the Currie Cup.

"We have selected our best available team, taking into account the workload of someone like Jean de Villiers, and we're looking forward to facing the Sharks," said Province boss Allister Coetzee.

"There is always something at stake when you represent Western Province, and we will be doing our best to pick up a win and finish the league phase of the Currie Cup unbeaten."

Western Province: 15 Gio Aplon, 14 Gerhard van den Heever, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Cheslin Kolbe, 10 Demetri Catrakilis, 9 Louis Schreuder, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Siya Kolisi, 6 Deon Fourie (c), 5 De Kock Steenkamp, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Pat Cilliers, 2 Scarra Ntubeni, 1 Steven Kitshoff
Replacements: 16 Franks Malherbe, 17 Brok Harris, 18 Michael Rhodes, 19 Schalk Burger, 20 Nic Groom, 21 Kurt Coleman, 22 Jean de Villiers

Date: Saturday, October 12
Venue: Kings Park, Durban
Kick-off 19:10 local (17:10 GMT)
Referee: Jonathan Kaplan


Tags: Currie Cup |  Western Province |  Sharks | 

From The Sideline