Currie Cup sticks with six

 Sep 30,2013
Written by: Editor

The Kings will not be handed a place in the Currie Cup next year after talks about creating an expanded Premier Division competition were rejected.

SARU broke the news in a press release in what will come as a blow the Kings and Pumas, who were set to make it an eight-team Currie Cup.

"Media are advised that a proposal to expand the Absa Currie Cup Premier Division to eight teams in 2014 was rejected by a Special General Council meeting of South African Rugby Union provinces in Johannesburg on Monday," it read.

"A second proposal - dependent on the success of the first - that the Lions be entrenched in Vodacom Super Rugby for the next two years therefore fell away.

"As a result, the status quo remains and the winners of the Absa Currie Cup First Division title in 2013 will play the last-placed team in the Premier Division for the chance of promotion to the 2014 Premier Division." 

Back your team



Tags: Currie Cup |  Pumas |  EP Kings | 

From The Sideline