Four Boks released for Currie Cup

 Sep 16,2013
Written by: Editor

Four members of the Springboks’ 30-man Rugby Championship squad have been released to their provinces for Currie Cup duty this weekend.

Franco van der Merwe (Golden Lions), Marcell Coetzee (The Sharks), Juan de Jongh (Western Province) and Bjorn Basson (Blue Bulls) are all available to play in the Absa Currie Cup this weekend.

Furthermore, Piet van Zyl will also return to the Free State Cheetahs, with Fourie du Preez back in the Springbok squad for the last two home matches in the Rugby Championship.

The remaining members of the Springbok squad will gather in Cape Town on Friday, where the injury situation will be assessed. A final call on any possible changes to the squad will be made by Sunday.

The Springboks will start their on-field preparations on Monday for next Saturday’s Test against Australia at Newlands.

“We have two crucial matches ahead and we will have to work very hard if we are to keep alive our chances of winning the Rugby Championship,” said Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer.

Make your predictions

Tags: Springboks |  South Africa | 

From The Sideline