Hooper named Australia's best

 Aug 08,2013
Written by: Editor

Waratahs and Wallaby flanker Michael Hooper has been named the Australian Super Rugby Player of the year.

Hooper beat off the challenge of fellow back rower George Smith - who replaced him for the third Test against the Lions - for the award.

The 21-year-old registered four man of the match performances as he garnered 21 votes over the season, with Smith and Reds scrum-half Will Genia tied on 17 points. Rebels back James O'Connor was next best with 16 points.

Israel Folau was rewarded for a stellar debut season in union with the Rookie of the Year award.

Brumbies coach Jake White, who led his side to the final of the competition was named Coach of the Year.

Reds winger Rod Davies bagged the Try of the Year gong after he finished off a length-of-the-field effort against the Sharks in Round 10.

Kiwi import Steve Walsh was named the Australian Referee of the Year award.

Tags: Super Rugby |  Reds |  Waratahs |  Western Force |  Brumbies |  Melbourne Rebels | 

From The Sideline