Tietjens shows his hand

 May 28,2013
Written by: Editor

All Blacks Sevens coach Gordon Tietjens has confirmed his trial squad ahead of the Rugby World Cup Sevens 2013 in Moscow in late June.

The squad includes 14 players who took part in the IRB Sevens World Series. Ben Lam was not considered because of injury.

"We've called on a core group of players who excelled during the recent series as well as others who have played in previous seasons," explained Tietjens.  

"We have also been able to include three players from Investec Super Rugby wider training groups, two of whom have played well for the All Blacks Sevens before.

"Competition for the final 12 places will be tough and it won't be an easy decision. The World Cup only comes around once every four years so it's one tournament every sevens player really wants to play in. We haven't won since 2001 so we certainly have our sights on doing well in Moscow. 

"It's also a really important step in our journey to Rio in 2016 so we will be working hard to make sure our preparation is right and that our players have the physical and mental toughness to do well in a pinnacle event."

New Zealand Sevens trial squad:

Pita Ahki (North Harbour), Toby Arnold (Bay of Plenty), Kurt Baker (Taranaki), Tomasi Cama (Manawatu), Scott Curry (Manawatu), Sam Dickson (Canterbury), DJ  Forbes (Counties Manukau), Bryce  Heem (Tasman), Gillies  Kaka (Hawke's Bay), Rocky Khan (Auckland), Fritz Lee (Counties Manukau), Tim  Mikkelson (Waikato), Waisake  Naholo (Taranaki), Patrick Osborne (Canterbury), Lote  Raikabula (Wellington), David  Raikuna (North Harbour), Trinity Spooner-Neera (Hawke's Bay), Sherwin Stowers (Counties Manukau), Belgium Tuatagaloa (Canterbury)



Tags: Sevens Rugby |  New Zealand | 

From The Sideline