Wilko named Europe's best

 May 19,2013
Written by: Editor

Toulon fly-half Jonny Wilkinson has capped a fine Heineken Cup campaign by winning the ERC European Player of the Year award.

The prestigious award comes after the 33-year-old captained Toulon to a dramatic 16-15 Heinken Cup final victory over Clermont at the Aviva Stadium in Dublin on Saturday.

The former England international was presented with his award, a specially struck gold medal, by ERC Chief Executive, Derek McGrath, at a ceremony in Dublin.

"To receive an award of this importance towards the end of my career is really special," said Wilkinson.

"I feel privileged to have been nominated."

He follows in the footsteps of the Leinster duo of Rob Kearney and Sean O'Brien who won northern hemisphere rugby's highest individual accolade in 2012 and 2011 respectively.

Wilkinson won the award ahead of Leinster's Jamie Heaslip. and the Clermont trio of Julien Bonnaire, Wesley Fofana and Sitiveni Sivivatu.

Back your team


Tags: European |  England | 

From The Sideline