Brits called by Baa-baas

 May 15,2013
Written by: Editor

The Barbarians have named a squad of 28 drawn from 12 nationalities for their upcoming clashes with England and the British and Irish Lions.

The latest additions to the squad previously announced includes Saracens hooker Schalk Brits, Fijian wing Timoci Nagusa, Wallaby lock Dean Mumm, Azzurri prop Andrea Lo Cicero and powerful US Eagles forward Samu Manoa. 

Utility-back Elliot Daly joins his Wasps club-mate Sam Jones as an uncapped member of the 28.

"We are very pleased with the final composition and strength of the squad," said tour manager Derek Quinnell ahead of their two games.

"Obviously because of play-off finals in Ireland and England on 25 May a handful of players will not be available for the first match against England but we have covered that by inviting 28 players. We also believe there is a healthy balance between proven test experience and promising young talent who will benefit enormously from the experience."

The Barbarians assemble in London on May 22. They will fly overnight to Hong Kong immediately after the match against England on May 26 before the tour reaches a climax with the fixture against the British and Irish Lions on Saturday, June 1.

Barbarians squad

Backs: Jared Payne (Ulster), Rowan Varty (DeA Tigers and Hong Kong), Takudzwa Ngwenya (Biarritz Olympique and USA), Timoci Nagusa (Montpellier and Fiji), Joe Rokocoko (Bayonne and New Zealand), Elliot Daly (London Wasps), James Hook (Perpignan and Wales), Nick Evans (Harlequins and New Zealand), Kahn Fotuali'i (Ospreys and Samoa), Dwayne Peel (Sale Sharks and Wales), Dimitri Yachvili (Biarritz Olympique and France).

Forwards: Duncan Jones (Ospreys and Wales), B J Botha (Munster and South Africa), Paul James (Bath Rugby and Wales), Martin Castrogiovanni (Leicester and Italy), Andrea Lo Cicero (Racing Metro 92 and Italy), Matthew Rees (Scarlets and Wales), Leonardo Ghiraldini (Benetton Treviso and Italy), Schalk Brits (Saracens and South Africa), Marco Wentzel (London Wasps and South Africa), Jim Hamilton (Gloucester Rugby and Scotland), Dean Mumm (Exeter Chiefs and Australia), Samu Manoa (Northampton and USA), Francois Louw (Bath Rugby and South Africa), Sam Jones (London Wasps), Alessandro Zanni (Benetton Treviso and Italy), Sergio Parisse (Stade Francais and Italy), Imanol Harinordoquy (Biarritz Olympique and France).

Manager: Derek Quinnell
Coach: David Young
Player/Assistant coach: Mike Tindall

Put your money where your mouth is 



From The Sideline