Blitzbokke win Glasgow Sevens

 May 05,2013
Written by: Editor

South Africa won the Cup final of the Glasgow Sevens 28-21 against New Zealand, who had earlier sealed the IRB World Sevens Series title.

The Blitzbokke won a thrilling final at Scotstoun Stadium after defeating the United States and England in their quarter-final and semi-final.

New Zealand's passage into the last four meant they couldn't be caught in the 2012/13 IRB World Series table and were subsequently champions.

England finished the penultimate tournament of the Series in third position after battling back to beat Wales 24-21 while the respective winners of the Plate and Shield were the USA and Australia.

Day Two results:

Samoa 17-14 Russia - QF Bowl
Australia 36-0 Portugal - QF Bowl
France 7-22 Kenya - QF Bowl
Scotland 31-5 Spain - QF Bowl
South Africa 22-5 United States - QF Cup
Fiji 12-15 (AET) England - QF Cup
Wales 26-7 Canada - QF Cup
New Zealand 42-10 Argentina - QF Cup

Russia 41-7 Portugal SF Shield
France 41-0 Spain SF Shield
Samoa 12-17 Australia SF Bowl
Kenya 24-19 Scotland SF Bowl
United States 22-7 Fiji - SF Plate
Canada 7-22 Argentina - SF Plate
South Africa 24-17 England - SF Cup
Wales 14-26 New Zealand - SF Cup

Russia 17-21 France - Final Shield
Australia 12-5 Kenya - Final Bowl
United States 17-7 Argentina - Final Plate
England 24-21 Wales - Third Place
South Africa 28-21 New Zealand - Cup Final 


Tags: Sevens Rugby |  Blitzbokke | 

From The Sideline