Preview: Varsity Young Guns Final

 Mar 30,2013
Written by: Editor

It will be a battle between two unbeaten teams when  UP-Tuks face  Maties in the Varsity Young Guns Final in Stellenbosch on Monday.

The same two teams contested the final in the inaugural Young Guns competition last year, with UP-Tuks coming away on top on home turf, but they will have to prove that they can do the business away from home this year if they want to retain their title.

The Pretoria side have never lost a Young Guns match, but their coach Paul Anthony knows that Maties will pose a stern test for them at the Danie Craven Stadium in a match being televised live on Supersport One at 7pm.

"Obviously it is going to be tough being away from home,  that is a big challenge for us. Last year we played them as well but at home so this season we have to see if we can do it away from home," he said.

Although his team beat UCT 68-28 in their semifinal, Anthony was not happy with their standards and expects them to be far more accurate against a solid Maties outfit.

"I thought we were poor against UCT regardless of what the scoreline was. I hope we can be a lot more accurate because if we play like that then we won't win the final.

"The big thing for me is the fact that we are playing away from home, at Maties and it is massive for the boys which means that immediately they are focused," he said.

With five members of the Baby Bok squad set to tour Argentina in their match-day 23, UP-Tuks certainly have the firepower to continue their unbeaten run and take their second title, but it will not be handed to them.


 Maties: 15 Wihan Lombard, 14 Lihleli Tini, 13 Johnny Kotze, 12 Wilhelm Visagie, 11 Boutros Mbina, 10 Kobus Putter, 9 Bjorn Bernardo, 8 Michael Murphy, 7 Pieter de Wet, 6 Nicolai Lubbe, 5 Meyer Ferreira, 4 Gerhard de Wet, 3 JE van der Merwe, 2 Cullen Collopy, 1 Migael Grobler.   
Replacements: 16 De Wet Steenkamp, 17 Johnny Meyer, 18 Tangeni Shatiwa, 19 Beuton Nero, 20 Pieter Schoonraad, 21 Andre le Roux, 22 Kirk Cupido, 23 Nicol Heyns.

15 Jacques Rossouw, 14 Kefentse Mahlo, 13 Daniel Kriel, 12 Burger Odendaal, 11 Duncan Matthews, 10 Francois Tredoux, 9 Carlo Engelbrecht, 8 Nicolaas Immelman, 7 Jannes Kirsten, 6 Roelof Smit, 5 Dennis Visser, 4 Irne Herbst, 3 Andrew Beerwinkel, 2 Theuns Reynolds, 1 Jan Enslin
Replacements: 16 Ruan Steenkamp, 17 Wilco Louw, 18 Paul Janse van Rensburg, 19 Gerrit Engelbrecht, 20 Ganfried May, 21 Leighton van Wyk, 22 Lood De Jager, 23 Nqoba Mxoli.

Date: Monday, April 1
Venue: Danie Craven Stadium, Stellenbosch
7pm (Live on Supersport One)
Referee: Daniel Fortuin
TMO: Shaun Veldsman


Tags: Varsity Cup |  Tuks |  Maties | 

From The Sideline