Six Nations line ups

 Mar 14,2013
Written by: Editor

Wales will be captained by Gethin Jenkins for their Six Nations decider with England in a line-up that sees Justin Tipuric come in as openside.

Jenkins has recovered from a calf injury that ruled him out of the victory at Murrayfield and will win his 98th cap when he captains the XV on Saturday.

In the absence of captain Ryan Jones in the back-row, Sam Warburton switches to blindside flanker with Tipuric coming in to wear the number seven shirt.

Mike Phillips will become Wales' most capped scrum-half when he wins his 77th cap, surpassing Dwayne Peel's previous record of 76.

Wales: 15 Leigh Halfpenny, 14 Alex Cuthbert, 13 Jonathan Davies, 12 Jamie Roberts, 11 George North, 10 Dan Biggar, 9 Mike Phillips, 8 Toby Faletau, 7 Justin Tipuric, 6 Sam Warburton, 5 Ian Evans, 4 Alun-Wyn Jones, 3 Adam Jones, 2 Richard Hibbard, 1 Gethin Jenkins.
Replacements: 16 Ken Owens, 17 Paul James, 18 Scott Andrews, 19 Andrew Coombs, 20 Aaron Shingler, 21 Lloyd Williams, 22 James Hook, 23 Scott Williams.

Leicester Tigers flanker Tom Croft will start at six for England as he continues his recovery from serious injury.

Croft made his first appearance in an England shirt for a year last weekend in the victory over Italy, after suffering a neck injury that left him close to paralysis.

England's other changes see Ben Youngs and Owen Farrell return at half-back in place of Danny Care and Toby Flood, who both drop to the bench.

The remaining change to the starting XV sees Harlequins prop Joe Marler start at loosehead ahead of Mako Vunipola.

Joe Launchbury and Geoff Parling have both recovered from injury to start in the second row, with James Haskell amongst the substitutes.

England: 15 Alex Goode, 14 Chris Ashton, 13 Manu Tuilagi, 12 Brad Barritt, 11 Mike Brown, 10 Owen Farrell, 9 Ben Youngs, 8 Tom Wood, 7 Chris Robshaw (c), 6 Tom Croft, 5 Geoff Parling, 4 Joe Launchbury, 3 Dan Cole, 2 Tom Youngs, 1 Joe Marler.
Replacements: 16 Dylan Hartley, 17 David Wilson, 18 Mako Vunipola, 19 Courtney Lawes, 20 James Haskell, 21 Danny Care, 22 Toby Flood, 23 Billy Twelvetrees.

Ireland have made two changes in the backs to their starting XV to face Italy in Rome on Saturday.

Craig Gilroy, who missed the game against France with a groin strain, returns on the right wing in place of Fergus McFadden who is unavailable due to a rib injury.

Jonathan Sexton also returns to the team to start at outhalf after missing the past three games due to a hamstring injury, with Paddy Jackson moving to the replacements in place of Ian Madigan.

There is also a further change among the replacements with Devin Toner coming into the match squad in place of Donncha O'Callaghan, along with Paul Marshall for the injured Eoin Reddan.

Ireland: 15 Rob Kearney, 14 Craig Gilroy, 13 Brian O'Driscoll, 12 Luke Marshall, 11 Keith Earls, 10 Jonathan Sexton, 9 Conor Murray, 8 Jamie Heaslip (c) 7 Sean O'Brien, 6 Peter O'Mahony, 5 Donnacha Ryan, 4 Mike McCarthy, 3 Mike Ross, 2 Rory Best, 1 Cian Healy.
Replacements: 16 Sean Cronin, 17 David Kilcoyne, 18 Stephen Archer, 19 Devin Toner, 20 Iain Henderson, 21 Paul Marshall, 22 Paddy Jackson, 23 Luke Fitzgerald.

Italy have made three changes to their line-up as Simone Favaro, Lorenzo Cittadini and Andrea Lo Cicero all start.

Italy: 15 Andrea Masi, 14 Giovambattista Venditti, 13 Gonzalo Canale, 12 Gonzalo Garcia, 11 Luke McLean, 10 Luciano Orquera, 9 Edoardo Gori, 8 Sergio Parisse, 7 Simone Favaro, 6 Alessandro Zanni, 5 Joshua Furno, 4 Quintin Geldenhuys, 3 Lorenzo Cittadini, 2 Leonardo Ghiraldini (c) 1 Andrea Lo Cicero.
Replacements: 16 Davide Giazzon, 17 Michele Rizzo, 18 Alberto de Marchi, 19 Antonio Pavanello, 20 Francesco Minto, 21 Paul Derbyshire, 22 Tobias Botes, 23 Tommaso Benvenuti.

France coach Philippe Saint-André has made three changes to his starting XV to play Scotland, with Mathieu Bastareaud starting in midfield.

wo more changes see young Perpignan lock Sebastien Vahaamahina win a first start to partner Yoann Maestri in the engine room, with Castres forward Antonie Claassen at blindside flanker.

The South African-born forward makes his first start for Les Bleus following two appearances off the bench against England and Ireland.

Those changes mean that Christophe Samson and Yannick Nyanga drop to the bench, whilst either Florian Fritz or Toulouse star Gael Fickou will fill the 23 jersey.

Fritz is a doubt because of a foot injury and has been given till Friday to prove his fitness.

France: 15 Yoann Huget, 14 Vincent Clerc, 13 Mathieu Bastareaud, 12 Wesley Fofana, 11 Maxime Médard, 10 Frederic Michalak, 9 Morgan Parra, 8 Louis Picamoles, 7 Thierry Dusautoir, 6 Antonie Claassen, 5 Yoann Maestri, 4 Sebastien Vahaamahina, 3 Nicolas Mas, 2 Benjamin Kayser, 1 Thomas Domingo.
Replacements: 16 Guilhem Guirado, 17 Vincent Debaty, 18 Luc Ducalcon, 19 Christophe Samson, 20 Yannick Nyanga, 21 Maxime Machenaud, 22 Francois Trinh-Duc, 23 Florian Fritz or Gael Fickou.

22-year-old Edinburgh lock Grant Gilchrist will win his first cap for Scotland in Paris.

Gilchrist, an unused replacement on the bench when Scotland lost to Tonga in Aberdeen in November, replaces the injured Richie Gray.

The only other change to the starting line-up sees the experienced Alasdair Strokosch preferred to Rob Harley at blindside flanker.

Scotland: 15 Stuart Hogg, 14 Sean Maitland, 13 Sean Lamont, 12 Matt Scott, 11 Tim Visser, 10 Duncan Weir, 9 Greig Laidlaw, 8 Johnnie Beattie, 7 Kelly Brown, 6 Alasdair Strokosch, 5 Jim Hamilton, 4 Grant Gilchrist, 3 Euan Murray, 2 Ross Ford, 1 Ryan Grant.
Replacements: 16 Dougie Hall, 17 Moray Low, 18 Geoff Cross, 19 Alastair Kellock, 20 Ryan Wilson, 21 Henry Pyrgos, 22 Ruaridh Jackson, 23 Max Evans.




Tags: International |  England |  France |  Ireland |  Italy |  Wales |  Scotland | 

From The Sideline