Six Nations team news

 Mar 05,2013
Written by: Editor

Ireland coach Declan Kidney left his fly-half position open ahead of Saturday's clash with France in Dublin.

Kidney has named the rest of his starting XV but has not confirmed who will wear the number 10 jersey, with Paddy Jackson, who started in the 12-8 defeat to Scotland, currently struggling with a hamstring injury.

If Jackson is ruled fit, he will compete with Ian Madigan for the fly-half position.

In total there are three changes, with Cian Healy, Fergus McFadden and Mike McCarthy all in the run-on side while Tom Court, Craig Gilroy and Donncha O'Callaghan miss out.

Ireland: 15 Rob Kearney, 14 Fergus McFadden, 13 Brian O'Driscoll, 12 Luke Marshall, 11 Keith Earls, 10 TBC, 9 Conor Murray, 8 Jamie Heaslip (c) 7 Sean O'Brien, 6 Peter O'Mahony, 5 Donnacha Ryan, 4 Mike McCarthy, 3 Mike Ross, 2 Rory Best, 1 Cian Healy.

Replacements: 16 Sean Cronin, 17 David Kilcoyne, 18 TBC, 19 Iain Henderson, 20 Eoin Reddan, 21 TBC, 22 Luke Fitzgerald.

Wales have included Sam Warburton and Alun-Wyn Jones in their starting line-up for Saturday's Six Nations meeting with Scotland at Murrayfield.

Meanwhile, Paul James will win his 44th cap and comes into the side after Gethin Jenkins failed to recover from a calf injury picked up in Italy.

Jones and Warburton, who both featured from the bench in Rome after recovering from injuries, start at second-row and at openside respectively.

Ryan Jones (Ospreys) who has led Wales to two successive away victories will again captain the side and will line up in the back-row alongside Warburton and Toby Faletau at number eight.

Alun-Wyn Jones comes into the second-row to partner regional team-mate Ian Evans at the expense of Andrew Coombs

Wales: 15 Leigh Halfpenny, 14 Alex Cuthbert, 13 Jonathan Davies, 12 Jamie Roberts, 11 George North, 10 Dan Biggar, 9 Mike Phillips, 8 Toby Faletau, 7 Sam Warburton, 6 Ryan Jones (capt), 5 Ian Evans, 4 Alun-Wyn Jones, 3 Adam Jones, 2 Richard Hibbard, 1 Paul James.
Replacements: 16 Ken Owens, 17 Scott Andrews, 18 Craig Mitchell, 19 Andrew Coombs, 20 Justin Tipuric, 21 Lloyd Williams, 22 James Hook, 23 Scott Williams.

Scotland have made one alteration to their starting line-up as Duncan Weir replaces Ruaridh Jackson at 10.

Weir, whose three previous caps have been won from the bench, replaces his club-mate Jackson in the pivotal position

Ryan Wilson, who was captain and man of the match in Scotland A's victory over England Saxons last month, is introduced to a matchday 23 for the first time instead of David Denton who has a knee injury

Scotland: 15 Stuart Hogg, 14 Sean Maitland, 13 Sean Lamont, 12 Matt Scott, 11 Tim Visser, 10 Duncan Weir, 9 Greig Laidlaw, 8 Johnnie Beattie, 7 Kelly Brown, 6 Robert Harley, 5 Jim Hamilton, 4 Richie Gray, 3 Euan Murray, 2 Ross Ford, 1 Ryan Grant.
Replacements: 16 Dougie Hall, 17 Moray Low, 18 Geoff Cross, 19 Alastair Kellock, 20 Ryan Wilson, 21 Henry Pyrgos, 22 Ruaridh Jackson, 23 Max Evans.


Tags: International |  Ireland |  Wales |  Scotland | 

From The Sideline