O'Connor at 10 for Rebels

 Mar 05,2013
Written by: Editor

The Rebels will start James O'Connor at number 10 for Friday's must-win match against the Reds at AAMI Park.

O'Connor will once again captain the side, with number eight Gareth Delve still being sidelined.

With the injury to Beale, Hill has given the pivot role to O'Connor, while calling upon uncapped utility Angus Roberts into the run-on team at full-back, after some strong trial and training form.

The first South Australian born Super Rugby player, Alex Rokobaro, returns to the starting team, with Rory Sidey moving onto the bench.

Hill has kept the same forward reserves with both Jarrod Saffy and Jordy Reid expected to feature.

Rebels: 15 Angus Roberts, 14 Richard Kingi, 13 Mitch Inman, 12 Lachlan Mitchell, 11 Alex Rokobaro, 10 James O'Connor (c), 9 Nick Phipps, 8 Scott Higginbotham, 7 Scott Fuglistaller, 6 Luke Jones, 5 Cadeyrn Neville, 4 Hugh Pyle, 3 Laurie Weeks, 2 Ged Robinson, 1 Nic Henderson.
Replacements: 16 Shota Horie, 17 Paul Alo-Emile, 18 Jordy Reid, 19 Jarrod Saffy, 20 Nic Stirzaker, 21 Rory Sidey, 22 Tom English.

Date: Friday, March 8
Kick-off: 19:40 local (08:40 GMT)
Venue: AAMI Park, Melbourne 


Tags: Super Rugby |  Melbourne Rebels | 

From The Sideline