News

Ref got Ralepelle try wrong

 Feb 27,2013
Written by: SARugby.com Editor
 

SANZAR referees boss Lyndon Bray admitted that the try awarded to Bulls hooker Chiliboy Ralepelle in last Friday's Super Rugby opener against the Stormers, was a mistake by the referee and TMO.

Ralepelle's controversial try - converted by Morne Steyn - helped seal a 25-17 win over the Stormers at Loftus Versfeld.

After trailing 12-0, the Stormers managed to cut the Bulls' lead to just two points before the home side all but wrapped up the match when Rallepele collected a freakish grubber kick from Francois Hougaard close to the tryline.

Referee Jaco Peyper went upstairs to double check with television match official Johan Greeff, who took some time to award the score after deciding the ball touched a Stormers player first before Ralepelle dotted down.
 
But Bray has confirmed that the decision was indeed incorrect and that a penalty should have been awarded to the Stormers, instead of a try to the Bulls.

“It’s a simple answer really – Jaco knows he was wrong and he has to take accountability for that,” Bray explained.

“In the incident, we see the Bulls 9 kick the ball and the Bulls 2 is in front of 9. At best the Stormers player plays the ball if it indeed does hit him, and in that case the law is very clear. Number two is within 10 metres of the ball, and he needs to retire. He may have been close to the player receiving the ball, but the reality is he is offside and not allowed to come within 10 metres of the player who plays at the ball.

"The fact that the Stormers player plays the ball does not put him onside unless he is retiring. The only way he could have been onside would have been if the ball was charged down, and it is clearly not that, so the referee got that wrong.

“What is disappointing is that the law is really very well known to referees at this level and it is very disappointing that he got that wrong.”

Tags: Super Rugby |  Bulls | 
 
 
 
 

From The Sideline