Sharks fill up with Deysel

 Feb 27,2013
Written by: Editor

The Sharks have made one change to their starting line-up ahead of facing the Stormers, with Jean Deysel in for Jacques Botes on the blindside flank.

Despite being the start of the season and having suffered two injuries in the pre-season games, the Sharks came out relatively unscathed after their opening win against the Cheetahs.

"We had a couple of head knocks, and the ground was pretty hard there," coach John Plumtree told the Sharks website.

"Meyer Bosman is over his injury, Jean Deysel took quite a nasty knock but he is ok. Lwazi Mvovo had to come off, he had a problem with his groin, but he is OK for this week."

The Sharks line-out was believed to be potentially problematic, but it functioned very well against the Cheetahs - operating at 92 per cent. The Cheetahs by contrast were successful with only 67 per cent of their throws which indicates that the Stormers may not have an edge they might have hoped to exploit.

Nevertheless, Plumtree felt that there were problem areas which they needed to button up for the match on Saturday.

"We were a bit clumsy at the breakdown, we would secure the ball comfortably and then it would pop out the side and we'd ask: 'how did that happen?' A couple of times we were short of numbers and got turned over, a couple of times poor carrying into contact," added the coach.

"The Stormers hit you hard, so you need to make sure you maintain possession when they do. We've worked on that in training, it's a big focus, you need to keep the ball."

The Sharks: 15 Louis Ludik, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Paul Jordaan, 12 Francois Steyn (c), 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Patrick Lambie, 9 Cobus Reinach, 8 Ryan Kankowski, 7 Marcell Coetzee, 6 Jean Deysel, 5 Franco van der Merwe, 4 Anton Bresler, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Craig Burden, 1 Tendai Mtawarira.
Replacements: 16 Kyle Cooper, 17 Wiehahn Herbst, 18 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 19 Jacques Botes, 20 Charl McLeod, 21 Meyer Bosman, 22 Odwa Ndungane.

Date: Saturday, March 2
Venue: Kings Park, Durban
Kick-off: 19.10 (17.10 GMT)
Referee: Jonathan Kaplan (South Africa)
Assistant referees: Jaco Peyper (South Africa), Cobus Wessels (South Africa)
TMO: Shaun Veldsman (South Africa)


Tags: Super Rugby |  The Sharks | 

From The Sideline