SA ranked third for WC Sevens

 Feb 26,2013
Written by: Editor

The Blitzbokke have been confirmed as the number three seeds for the World Cup Sevens 2013 in Moscow.

South Africa will be joined in band one for the Sevens Pool Allocation Draw (which takes place in Moscow on February 28) by New Zealand (top seeds) Fiji (second), England, Samoa and Australia, who have all secured their places.

Band two for the draw will consist of defending champions Wales, Argentina, France, Kenya, Scotland and USA while the third tier will include Canada, Portugal, Spain, Russia, Tonga and Zimbabwe.

Uruguay's men and Brazil's women have claimed the final remaining spots at the Rugby World Cup Sevens 2013, which will take place from June 28-30 in Moscow's iconic Luzhniki Stadium.

Band four consists of Japan, Hong Kong, Georgia, Tunisia, Philippines and Uruguay.

The CONSUR Sevens Championship took place over the weekend in Rio de Janeiro in a tournament that doubled as the South America qualification tournament for RWC Sevens.

Uruguay's men were unable to defend their title successfully but their position in the final against Argentina, who had automatically qualified for the RWC Sevens in Moscow, means they will compete at a third consecutive RWC Sevens.

There were few surprises as far as the women's section was concerned, with Brazil taking the title for a ninth consecutive year. But despite their dominance in the region, Brazil had to fight very hard in the final to beat a spirited Argentina side, coached by Sevens legend Santiago Gómez Cora. Under a blazing sun in Rio, the Brazilians won 27-14.

Meanwhile, the women's Rugby World Cup Sevens rankings were confirmed last week with England, Australia, Canada and USA making up the top band.

Men's Rugby World Cup Sevens Rankings
1. New Zealand 429
2. Fiji 349
3. South Africa 338
4. Samoa 324
5. England 304
6. Australia 227
7. Wales 197
8. Argentina 183
9. France 144
10. Kenya 113.



Tags: Sevens Rugby |  Blitzbokke | 

From The Sideline