Kings field four foreigners

 Jan 30,2013
Written by: Editor

Southern Kings boss Alan Solomons has named four of his five foreign imports in a 29-man squad that will face a SWD Franchise XV in a pre-season outing in George on Friday.

New Zealand utility back Hadleigh Parkes, Kenyan utility forward Daniel Adongo, , Argentinean loose forward Tomas Leonardi, and French hooker Virgil Lacombe will all play 40 minutes.

Pumas scrum-half Nicolas Vergallo is the only foreigner that does not feature in Friday's match.

The Kings were told this week that they are not allowed more than the regulation two foreigners in the matchday squad, which means three of the five will miss out.

However, Kings President Cheeky Watson, who said the Port Elizabeth-based franchise will accept the decision, revealed that they will not part ways with any of their foreigners.

"We will not be releasing any of our foreign players, as there are still ample opportunities within our structures for them to contribute," Watson said in a statement.

In the meantime Solomons is continuing to trial the foreigners to see who will feature for them when the Super Rugby season gets underway next month.

In the absence of regular captain Luke Watson, former Cheetahs centre Andries Strauss will captain the Kings during the first half of Friday's trial, while Sevens Springbok Mpho Mbiyozo will take over the reins in the second half.

Southern Kings: 
15 Elric van Vuuren
14 Sergeal Petersen (40 minutes) / Siviwe Soyizwapi (40 minutes)
13 Ronnie Cooke (60 minutes) / Siyanda Grey (20 minutes)
12 Andries Strauss (Captain) (40 minutes) / Hadleigh Parkes (40 minutes)
11 Marcello Sampson (40 minutes)/Siyanda Grey (20 minutes)/Sergeal Petersen (20 minutes)
10 George Whitehead (40 minutes) / Wesley Dunlop (Vice Captain) (40 minutes)
9 Shaun Venter (40 minutes) / Johan Herbst (40 minutes)
8 Jacques Engelbrecht (40 minutes) /Cornell du Preez (40 minutes)
7 Wimpie van der Walt (40 minutes) / Mpho Mbiyozo (Captain) (40 minutes)
6 Devin Oosthuizen (Vice Captain) (40 minutes) / Tomas Leonardi (40 minutes)
5 Daniel Adongo (40 minutes) / Rynier Bernardo (40 minutes)
4 David Bullbring (80 minutes)
3 Ross Geldenhuys (40 minutes) / Kevin Buys (40 minutes)
2 Virgil Lacombe (40 minutes) / Bandise Maku (40 minutes)
1 Jaco Engels (40 minutes) / Schalk Ferreira (40 minutes)


Tags: Super Rugby |  EP Kings | 

From The Sideline