Carter overlooked for award

 Dec 10,2012
Written by: Editor

All Blacks pivot Dan Carter has failed to make the shortlist for New Zealand's top rugby award, despite being named IRB Player of the Year last week.

Instead, the three in the running for the accolade are All Blacks skipper Richie McCaw, number eight Kieran Read and centre Conrad Smith.

The winner will be announced in Auckland on Friday.

The award was won by Jerome Kaino in 2011 and Read the year before.

The Tom French Memorial Maori Player of the Year nominations are All Blacks full-back Israel Dagg, loose forward Liam Messam and scrum-half Aaron Smith. This award was won by All Blacks number nine Piri Weepu in 2011.

New Zealand Rugby Awards nominations:

Kel Tremain Memorial Player of the Year: Richie McCaw, Kieran Read, Conrad Smith
Tom French Memorial Maori Player of the Year: Israel Dagg, Liam Messam, Aaron Smith
NZRU Women's Player of the Year: Rawinia Everitt, Fiao'o Fa'amausili, Selica Winiata
Super Rugby Player of the Year: Craig Clarke, Aaron Cruden, Conrad Smith
Richard Crawshaw Memorial Sevens Player of the Year: Tomasi Cama, Tim Mikkelson, Lote Raikabula
NZRU Age Grade Player of the Year: Jason Emery, Jordan Taufua, Ofa Tu'ungafasi
ITM Cup Player of the Year: Robbie Fruean, Tim Nanai-Williams, Charles Piutau
Heartland Championship Player of the Year: Ben Coman, Tau Moeke, Peter Rowe;
Coach of the Year: Steve Hansen, Dave Rennie, Gordon Tietjens
Team of the Year: All Blacks, Canterbury, Chiefs


Tags: International |  New Zealand | 

From The Sideline