PE Sevens - New Zealand win again

 Dec 09,2012
Written by: Editor

New Zealand claimed the Sevens title in South Africa for a record fourth successive year after beating France 47-12 in the final.

The All Blacks outscored the French seven tries to two in the final to record a emphatic 47-12 victory. Kurt Baker was hugely impressive bagging a hattrick in the final. It was a hugely impressive win and a fitting end to a fantastic weekend in Port Elizabeth.

The defending champions beat hosts South Africa to book their place in the Cell C Nelson Mandela Bay South Africa Sevens. The Kiwis had to come from 5-0 behind to beat the hosts 12-5 thanks to yet another impressive display from Tomasi Cama.

In the second semi final, France snatched victory in sudden death extra time after Manoel Dall Igna had drawn the scores level at 7-7 in the final seconds of normal time. Gaston Revel hit the post with an attempted penalty drop goal for Los Pumas, but Terry Bouhraoua stepped up successfully for France.

South Africa ended their campaign on a high, beating Argentina 35-0 to finish third thanks to an impressive hat-trick from Cheslin Kolbe.


Final: New Zealand 47-12 France

Third place play-off: South Africa 35-0 Argentina

Plate final: Wales 26-14 Fiji

Bowl final: Australia 26-14 Samoa

Shield final: Spain 33-0 Zimbabwe 

Plate semi-finals: Wales 26-19 USA, Portugal 12-26 Fiji 

Shield semi-finals: Zimbabwe 21-14 Scotland, Canada 12-29 Spain

Bowl semi-finals: Australia 24-21 Kenya, Samoa 15-12 England

Cup semi-finals: South Africa 7-12 New Zealand, France 10-7 Argentina

South Africa 17-7 United States
Wales 5-35 New Zealand
Portugal 7-10 France
Fiji 12-15 Argentina

Bowl quarter-finals:
Australia 24-14 Zimbabwe
Kenya 19-17 Scotland
Canada 21-36 Samoa
England 14-7 Spain

With thanks to the IRB




Tags: Sevens Rugby |  Blitzbokke | 

From The Sideline