Habana up for Try of the Year

 Nov 21,2012
Written by: Editor

Wings Hosea Gear, Julian Savea, Bryan Habana and Julien Malzieu have been shortlisted for International Rugby Players' Association (IRPA) Try of the Year award.

This quartet of tries was selected by an esteemed panel of All Blacks Test centurion Mils Muliaina, South Africa's Try of the Year 2009 winner Jaque Fourie, former IRB Player of the Year Shane Williams and Japan's Daisuke Ohata, the leading try scorer in Test Rugby.

The panel, which between them boast more than 300 Test matches and 195 international tries, now has the unenviable task of deciding which of these tries should be named the IRPA Try of the Year 2012.

Click here to view the shortlisted tries.

First, though, Rugby fans around the world have a chance to nominate their favourite try from the shortlist with an interactive format used for the second year in a row.

Nominations can be made from now until 17:00 UK time on Wednesday, November 28 and can be submitted via the Rugby World Cup Facebook page.

Flying the flag for Europe in the Try of the Year shortlist is France wing Malzieu. The tall and rangy wing fended off two would-be tacklers before stepping inside another in a mesmerising run on his way to Italy's try-line in the  Six Nations encounter in Paris.

All Blacks flyer Gear's effort in the third Test against Ireland in June was all about power and pace, too. The speedster got on the end of a tremendous offload from Conrad Smith following an overthrown Ireland line-out, and raced down the left touchline, leaving his opposite number for dead. Gear then bulldozed his way past Keith Earls to score in the corner.

Habana's try stemmed from a line-out move bang on the All Blacks' 10-metre line during The Rugby Championship match in Dunedin. While off balance South Africa scrum-half Ruan Pienaar was able to get his pass away to the onrushing Habana, who took the ball at pace and then gathered his own chip ahead for a marvellous score.

Rounding off the nominations is Savea's second try for New Zealand against Scotland at Murrayfield earlier this month. Dan Carter's deft kick over the Scottish defence was caught on the bounce by Savea, who stood up his man before sprinting over in the left hand corner.

The IRPA Try of the Year 2012 winner will be announced on Thursday, November 29.

Previous winners:
2011 - Radike Samo (Australia) - Australia v New Zealand
2010 - Chris Ashton (England) - England v Australia
2009 - Jaque Fourie (South Africa) - South Africa v British & Irish Lions
2008 - Brian O'Driscoll (Ireland) - Australia v Ireland



Tags: International |  South Africa | 

From The Sideline