News

Aussie lock cited

 Nov 12,2012
Written by: SARugby.com Editor
 

Australia lock Rob Simmons has been cited for a dangerous tackle on France flank Yannick Nyanga during his team's 33-6 loss in Paris.

If found guilty, the Wallabies forward will miss the tourists' second game of their European tour against England at Twickenham on Saturday.

The incident occurred in the 65th minute, when Simmons hit the French flanker with a late, lifting tackle shortly after replacing captain Nathan Sharpe.

Nyanga spilled a bomb before Simmons picked the Frenchman up and drove him into the turf with the flanker landing heavily on his back.

Luckily for Simmons, neither referee Nigel Owens or his two assistants, could pick up the number of the tackler with the referee telling acting stand-in captain Stephen Moore his side was very lucky they didn't see who made the tackle.

The hearing will be held on either on Tuesday or Wednesday.

Tags: International |  Australia | 
 
 
 
 

From The Sideline