Wholesale changes for Lions

 Oct 16,2012
Written by: Editor

Golden Lions coach Johan Ackermann has made eleven changes to his side that will face Western Province in their Currie Cup semi-final on Saturday.

Skipper JC Janse van Rensburg will return at loosehead in place of CJ van der Linde, Jacobie Adriaanse replaces Pat Cilliers at tighthead.

Lock Franco van der Merwe returns to the XV ahead of Paul Willemse and Cobus Grobbelaar replaces Jaco Kriel at blindside flank, while Kriel shifts to openside flank, replacing Derick Minnie.

At the back of the scrum, Warren Whiteley is preferred ahead of Willie Britz at number eight.

In the backline, Michael Bondesio starts at scrum-half in place of Ross Cronje, Elton Jantjies replaces Butch James at fly-half with James moving to the bench, Springbok Jaco Taute starts in place of Deon van Rensburg at outside centre, while Ruan Combrinck shifts from full-back to right wing, replacing Deon Helberg in the process. Andries Coetzee starts at full-back.

Golden Lions: 15 Andries Coetzee, 14 Ruan Combrinck, 13 Jaco Taute, 12 Alwyn Hollenbach/Dylan des Fountain, 11 Anthony Volmink, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Michael Bondesio, 8 Warren Whiteley, 7 Jaco Kriel, 6 Cobus Grobbelaar, 5 Franco van der Merwe, 4 Michael Rhodes, 3 Jacobie Adriaanse, 2 Callie Visagie, 1 JC Janse van Rensburg (c).
Replacements: 16 Bandise Maku, 17 CJ van der Linde/Pat Cilliers, 18 Hendrik Roodt, 19 Derick Minnie, 20 Ross Cronje, 21 Butch James, 22 Deon Helberg.

Date: Saturday, October 20
Kick-off: 19:00 local (18:00 BST, 17:00 GMT)
Venue: Coca-Cola Park, Johannesburg


Tags: Currie Cup |  Golden Lions | 

From The Sideline