Fiji defend Gold Coast title

 Oct 14,2012
Written by: Editor

Fiji retained their Gold Coast title on Sunday after defeating New Zealand 32-14 in the opening HSBC IRB World Sevens Series leg of the new season.

In a repeat of the 2011 final Fiji once again proved too strong for the All Black Sevens at Skilled Park with Ratu Raitini scoring an impressive hat-trick and Joji Raqamate crossing the line twice.

The victory means Fiji collect 22 Series points to sit top of the standings, ahead of New Zealand (19) and South Africa (17) who beat Kenya (15) in the third place play-off at the Australian event.


Argentina scored two first half tries through Nicolas Bruzzone and Fernando Luna to beat France 14-7 and win the Plate.

France beat Samoa in the first Plate semi-final 21-7 while Los Pumas inflicted yet more heartbreak for the hosts as Australia conceded a second last-minute try of the day to lose 17-14.


Spain beat England to claim eight Series points by winning the Bowl.

With the scores locked at 14-14 it was substitute Matias Tudela who scored the decisive try in sudden death extra time.

England reached the Bowl final after Marcus Watson snatched their own sudden death extra time try for Ben Ryan's side to beat Canada, and Spain defeated Wales 26-17 thanks to two tries from Pedro Martin.

In the first Bowl quarter final Canada beat Portugal 31-0, before England proved too strong for Scotland to set up the first semi final.

In the third quarter final, Wales came from 19-10 behind and scored three second half tries to run out 27-19 winners against USA whilst Spain moved into the semi finals in their first tournament as a core team, beating Tonga 19-7.


Michael Fedo and James Fleming both scored hat-tricks as Scotland beat USA 40-5 to win the first Shield of the season.

It was Fleming's second hat-trick of the day as he earlier helped Scotland beat Portugal 33-0 and reach the Shield final. Carlin Isles, who can run the 100m in 10.13 seconds scored two of six tries in a 33-26 victory against Tonga for the USA.



Cup: Fiji 32-14

Plate: Argentina 14-7 France

Bowl: Spain 19-14 England

Shield: Scotland 40-5 USA


Cup: South Africa 10-21 Fiji, New Zealand 15-5 Kenya

Plate: France 21-7 Samoa, Argentina 17-14 Australia

Bowl: Canada 19-24 England (AET), Wales 17-26 Spain

Shield: Portugal 0-33 Scotland, USA 33-26 Tonga

Bowl quarter-finals

Canada 31-0 Portugal
England 35-7 Scotland
Wales 27-19 USA
Spain 24-7 Tonga

Cup quarter-finals

South Africa 26-14 France
Samoa 7-19 Fiji
Argentina 7-12 New Zealand
Australia 14-21 Kenya

With thanks to the IRB


Tags: Sevens Rugby |  Fiji | 

From The Sideline