Kings crowned CC First Division champs

 Oct 13,2012
Written by: Editor

The Eastern Province Kings are the Currie Cup First Division champions after beating the Pumas 26-25 in Port Elizabeth on Saturday.

A nail-biting victory was good enough to set up a two-match promotion-relegation series against the Free State Cheetahs in the next fortnight.


The newly-promoted Super Rugby franchise had tries scored by captain Darron Nell and Marcello Sampson while the Pumas replied with a couple of tries from Coenie van Wyk and one apiece from Jaco Bouwer and RW Kember but lost out to the kicking of Wesley Dunlop and George Whitehead.

The scorers:

For EP Kings:

Tries: Nell, Sampson

Cons: Dunlop, Whitehead

Pens: Whitehead 3, Dunlop

For Pumas:

Tries: C van Wyk 2, Bouwer, Kember

Con: Olivier

Pens: Roos

Eastern Province Kings: 15 SP Marais, 14 Paul Perez, 13 Wayne Stevens, 12 Tiger Mangweni, 11 Marcello Sampson, 10 George Whitehead, 9 Falie Oelschig, 8 Cornell du Preez, 7 Devin Oosthuizen, 6 Wimpie van der Walt, 5 David Bullbring, 4 Darron Nell (captain), 3 Clint Newland, 2 Hannes Franklin, 1 Schalk Ferreira. Replacements: 16 Frank Herne, 17 André Schlechter, 18 Wayne van Heerden, 19 Mpho Mbiyozo, 20 Scott Mathie, 21 Wesley Dunlop, 22 Siyanda Grey.

Pumas: 15 Coenie van Wyk, 14 MJ Mentz, 13 Jerome Pretorius, 12 JW Jonker (captain), 11 Carl Bezuidenhout, 10 JC Roos, 9 Shaun Venter, 8 RW Kember, 7 Uzair Cassiem, 6 Jaco Bouwer, 5 Willem Serfontein, 4 Rudi Matthee, 3 Ashley Buys, 2 Torsten van Jaarsveld, 1 Corné Fourie. Replacements: 16 Drew van Coller, 17 De-Jay Terblanche, 18 Nqubeko Zulu, 19 Renaldo Bothma, 20 Francois de Klerk, 21 Naas Olivier, 22 Ashwin Scott.




Tags: Currie Cup |  EP Kings | 

From The Sideline