News

Dixon found not guilty

 Oct 03,2012
Written by: SARugby.com Editor
 

Sharks hooker Pieter Dixon is free to continue playing rugby after being shown a red card in last Friday's Currie Cup match against the Blue Bulls.

Dixon appeared before Disciplinary Officer, Jannie Lubbe, who found that the sending off was sufficient sanction and deemed no further sanction to be necessary.

The former Bath hooker was sent off by referee Mark Lawrence following a review and recommendation by the TMO.

Lubbe found that, on the balance of probability, the awarding of the red card was incorrect. The player conceded that his boot came into contact with the head of the Blue Bulls player, but stated that it was accidental.

Lubbe could not exclude that possibility on the evidence, and found that it was more probable that the contact was accidental rather than deliberate.

He also ruled that the red card should be removed from the player's record and not be considered should the player appear before a disciplinary committee again.

 

Tags: Currie Cup |  A1 | 
 
 
 
 

From The Sideline