Matfield To Captain Barbarians

 Nov 23,2011
Written by: Quintin van Jaarsveld

Victor Matfield will skipper the Barbarians in the final match of his illustrious career against the Wallabies at Twickenham on Saturday.

The Springbok legend will be joined in the starting line-up by 2007 World Cup-winning teammate Bryan Habana while Adriaan Strauss has been named on the bench.

Coach Graham Henry opted for three of his World Cup winners in the pack with Keven Mealamu anchoring the scrum and IRB Player of the Year nominee Jerome Kaino and Adam Thomson featuring in the back row.

Ireland scrumhalf Peter Stringer and England flyhalf Danny Cipriani make up the halfback pairing, former Wallaby captain Stirling Mortlock will join Crusaders powerhouse Robbie Fruean in midfield and England Rugby League star Sam Tomkins and All Black utility back Isa Toeava complete the backline.   

Barbarians: 15 Isaia Toeava, 14 Sam Tomkins, 13 Robbie Fruean, 12 Stirling Mortlock, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Danny Cipriani, 9 Peter Stringer, 8 Adam Thomson, 7 Mauro Bergamasco, 6 Jerome Kaino, 5 Victor Matfield (captain), 4 Simon Shaw, 3 Sylvain Marconnet, 2 Keven Mealamu, 1 Eusebio Guinazu.
Replacements: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Salvatore Perugini, 18 Jason White, 19 Marco Bortolami, 20 Nemia Kenatale, 21 Richard Kahui, 22 Seru Rabeni.

Tags: International |  Barbarians | 

From The Sideline