Preview: Griquas v Free State Cheetahs

 Aug 26,2011
Written by: Delon Cheketri

It’s the battle for central South African supremacy at GWK Park in Kimberley on Saturday afternoon when the Toyota Free State Cheetahs take on GWK Griquas.

These two teams are quite close to each other as they form a partnership in the Toyota Cheetahs’ Vodacom Super Rugby franchise.

Free State travel to Kimberley on the back of a massive victory over the Pumas, while Griquas lost to the Blue Bulls in Pretoria last weekend.

According to Adriaan Strauss, captain of the Toyota Free State Cheetahs, they will not single out certain players that they might know better from playing together in Vodacom Super Rugby.

“If you do that, there is always the danger that some of their other players might surprise you. We’re approaching this game like any other – we’d like to go there and win, and I’m sure they would like to get back on the winning track.

“Griquas never need extra motivation when playing at home and we’re mindful of how good they are, even though they lost to the Blue Bulls last week. I’m sure both sides will give their all, and afterwards we’ll be friends again.”

Key Battle: The head-to-head battle between Sarel Pretorius and Tewis de Bruyn is the most intriguing as De Bruyn will be keen to prove a point against the player he plays second fiddle to in Super Rugby.   

Referee: Jason Jaftha.

Last Meeting: Free State Cheetahs 33-28 GWK Griquas (Kimberley).

Prediction: It’s going to be uncompromising, tightly-contested and highly entertaining. It’s always tough for visiting teams to leave Kimberley with a win, but the Toyota Free State Cheetahs have all the momentum on their side and should edge their hosts by less than ten points.

Saturday 27 August: GWK Griquas v Toyota Free State Cheetahs, Kimberley (15:00)

GWK Griquas: 15 Rudi Vogt, 14 Riaan Viljoen/Wilmaure Louw, 13 Jean Stemmet, 12 Barry Geel, 11 Dusty Noble, 10 Earl Rose, 9. Sarel Pretorius, 8 Jonathan Mokuena (captain), 7 Davon Raubenheimer, 6 Justin Downey, 5 Martin Muller, 4 Hendrik Roodt, 3 Lourens Adriaanse, 2 Ryno Barnes, 1 Ivann Espag. Replacements: 16 Simon Westraadt, 17, Kevin Stevens, 18 Frikkie Spies, 19 Marnus Schoeman, 20 Marnus Hugo, 21. Matthew Rosslee/Hanno Coetzee, Wilmaure Louw/Monty Dumond.

Toyota Free State Cheetahs: 15 Riaan Smit, 14 Philip Snyman, 13 Robert Ebersohn, 12 Corne Uys, 11 Cameron Jacobs, 10 Sias Ebersohn, 9 Tewis de Bruyn, 8 Ashley Johnson, 7 Pieter Labuschagne, 6 Johan Wessels, 5 Izak van der Westhuizen, 4 Francois Uys, 3 WP Nel, 2 Adriaan Strauss (captain), 1 Coenie Oosthuizen. Replacements: 16 Hercu Liebenberg, 17 Marcel van der Merwe, 18 Wilhelm Steenkamp, 19 Boom Prinsloo, 20 Pieter van Zyl, 21 Johan Goosen, 22 Philip Burger.


Tags: Springboks |  Blue Bulls | 

From The Sideline