The Ruckers Forum

Forum » Rugby » General Stuff » Is it a conversion or is it not?
Login to reply
 
 
 
3389 Topic: Is it a conversion or is it not?
Saffex

Status: Hall Of Fame
Posts: 9359
Is it a conversion or is it not?
January 13, 2013, 17:23:15

My son was converting a try yesterday in his school match, the kick came up short but before it hit the ground one of the opposition players fly hacked it over the poles - is that a conversion or not?


clevermike

Status: Hall Of Fame
Posts: 13046
RE: Is it a conversion or is it not?
January 14, 2013, 08:04:14

A girl

Interesting question.   What was the verdicrt of the referee and touch judges on that one?   I think it is probably regarded as being a successful conversion - ie similar to a drop kick that hits an opposing player and then goes over the polls and is regarded as a converted drop kick - even if in its original trajectory would not have been between the polls.

In general the same type of issue is regarded as succesful in other codes of sport - such as own - goals in soccer - or catches in cricket - where a catcher is likely to go over the boundary line, but before he does so - he catches the ball and throws it into the air and come back into the field of play and catches it inside the field of play before it touches the ground.

Anyway - what was the verdict of the official in the case of your son's effort?


Beeno1

Status: Hall Of Fame
Posts: 12063
RE: Is it a conversion or is it not?
January 14, 2013, 08:23:26

Snapster I do not know the rules  - if indeed there are any that apply to t is very weird incident. However I say it a goal and your team gets the two points.

Some while back locks were being lifted to try and stop a penalty going over. If they had got  a finger to the ball but the ball had still gone over it would still have counted for 2 points. What is different in this case.

Beeno solving the case as one might expect.

Very poor kicking by that son of yours snapster and a reflection on the coach of course - which I believe is you! Bwahahahahahaha


blobbok

Status: Bok regular
Posts: 659
RE: Is it a conversion or is it not?
January 14, 2013, 08:59:34

I go along with Beano, & although I think  A girl a good coach, I hope he's not responsible for the team's selection .


Boklogic

Status: Bok regular
Posts: 1972
RE: Is it a conversion or is it not?
January 14, 2013, 09:03:31

 It would be 2 points. Much like cricket if a bowler drops a catch for 6 when it would have fallen short of the ropes. 6 runs is the result and 2 points would be the result. The ball is declared dead once it has hit the ground from the kick. In that case the ball had not yet hit the deck.

 

The real question to be asked here is: If this was a conversion as you state and not a penalty, that means your son could have placed the ball at a distance from the posts comfortable to his range. Why would the young man do himself a disservice by voluntarily placing the ball out of range? When I was 15, my range was about 32-35 metres. Not very long but long enough for a conversion from the touch line. Wasn't much more than that when I played 1st team either. About 45 metres if I gave it a good nudge ;-) Amazes me how Frans Steyn can stroke them over from 55 - 65 metres.


Beeno1

Status: Hall Of Fame
Posts: 12063
RE: Is it a conversion or is it not?
January 14, 2013, 09:18:48

Well observed Bobbok - one suspects a conflict of interest situation here. Snapster placing his son in the most important position on the field.

Again, good point Boklogic - an elementary error.

 


Saffex

Status: Hall Of Fame
Posts: 9359
RE: Is it a conversion or is it not?
January 14, 2013, 11:26:18

The ref did not award the conversion but he is one of the coaches and like us probably does not know the law on that one.

Nope, I coach my sons club side, this incident happened in his school match, of which 8 players are in my club squad.

As for the kick, it was from the touchline and he fluffed it, was a crap kick but did not affect the result, they won comfortably.


BonganiP

Status: Baby Bok
Posts: 229
RE: Is it a conversion or is it not?
January 14, 2013, 12:31:37

 

Beeno1
 
Status: Rugby Legend 
Posts: 4346
RE: Is it a conversion or is it not?
January 14, 2013, 08:23:26

Snapster I do not know the rules  

 

Well what do you know? Straight from the horse' mouth.


Beeno1

Status: Hall Of Fame
Posts: 12063
RE: Is it a conversion or is it not?
January 14, 2013, 14:05:25

Contex bongi context. Your comment is a quote out of context. Embarrassed


BonganiP

Status: Baby Bok
Posts: 229
RE: Is it a conversion or is it not?
January 14, 2013, 16:57:38

 Eish. Comrade Beeno should become a polêtiesjên. "Hau wena, I was quoted out of context......................" LOL


sasuke uchiha

Status: Rugby Legend
Posts: 5844
RE: Is it a conversion or is it not?
January 14, 2013, 19:17:08

it sounds like a conversion to me.

i looked it up the referees site,and left a question, but looking at the rules for conversions, it does sound like a conversion. at least the games outcome wasnt in any real doubt, i wouldnt want another dunedin test if it wasnt for missed kicks debacle to bore me again, LMAO, :oP


Saffex

Status: Hall Of Fame
Posts: 9359
RE: Is it a conversion or is it not?
January 14, 2013, 19:26:34

Sas, yes it would appear that it was a conversion. My son laughed when I told him and commented that it was one way of getting on the scorecard for the day given how poorly he was kicking


Leave a reply:

You need to be logged in to leave a reply.
 
 

From The Sideline